“To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.”

In colloquial language, a public official is a representative for people holding a public office. In many cases, public officials are responsible for marshaling ideas and implement them to make day to day lives of citizens easy and efficient. The ethical and moral standards are the norms which are mandated to be followed and which are not only defined and endorsed but are laudable by the general public. They play one of the most critical part while evaluating the performance of public official. I thoroughly agree with the statement that for a public official to be an effective leader, he/she must follow and maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

A good leader is one who brings out the best in people, inspires others to achieve their full potential, fosters creativity and co-operation among team members to achieve common goal and is open to myriad of new ideas and takes criticism in constructive manner. Good leader shows care and affection towards others and is an empath. But that doesn’t mean he never objects or criticizes. He says things in forthright manner and explains his/her reasons for so while maintaining the highest level of discipline and other moral standards.

Public officials are almost found at all places from traffic police to lawyers to judges to presidents in parliamentary palaces. They are an inevitable part of society. Imagine a situation where there is complete chaos and a cohort of people skirmish on unimportant or petty issues regarding the task at hand. A good leader understands both sides of view and puts forth the best possible solution with the perfect diction of speech. Likewise, consider project which involves humongous amount of funds and funds needs to be raised from the general public. An effective leader, apart from conveying the needed information ensures transparency and makes sure the funds allocated to the cause are used correctly rather than aiding to siphon it off or abetting to deploy it to fruitless returns.

No one can gainsay the fact that we undoubtedly live in best time in human history yet over the past few years’ atrocities and violence have dramatically increased, especially in the case of murder and raping of innocent young women and children. If it weren’t for police to report murder and lawyers to bring victims of crime to justice, I highly doubt the status quo of modern society and the means by which it could function and govern. Highly ranked public officials are responsible in forming defense and combative policies to protect its citizens from threats of terror.

Some of the great public officials to which one can look up to are John F. Kennedy and Abraham Lincoln. Both were widely loved by the American people as they selflessly and tirelessly worked for the interests of the common people and because of their selfless commitment and perseverance have cemented their legacy in history.

Lastly, but not the least, these are only a portion of traits and ways which for a public official to become an effective leader must follow. The possibilities are practically endless. Hence, by the above examples, one can conclude that for a public official to be an effective leader one must maintain the highest possible standards.