Clearly, the successful use of robots on mission to explore outer space could be increasingly used to perform factory work more effectively, efficiently and profitably. The use of robots in factory would offer several advantages. Firstly, robots never get sick, so absenteeism would be reduced. Second, robots do not make mistakes, so factories would increase their output. Finally, the use of robots would also improve the moral of factory workers since factory work could be so boring that many workers would be glad to more interesting kinds of tasks.

The author of the argument insists on replacing manual labor with robots to carry out factory work based upon the successful use of robots in exploring outer space and enlists down the advantages of doing so. However, the argument seems flawed and the author is unwarranted in his claim as it does not imply assumptions and their impending consequences.

Firstly, the author assumes that the tasks and purposes carried out in outer space and in factory are nearly similar. This is what we call the analogy pattern and in the context is complete fallacy. The focus of outer space is to gather evidence of alien life or to analyze certain elements for scientific research whereas the purpose of factory work is to assemble units or commodities at one place to combine a finished product which provide utility to customers at reasonable profit and generate economic activity. Whereas outer space focus on intangible returns, factory work focuses on tangible returns. Also, the cost to go to outer space could be gargantuan, extremely risky and doesn’t guarantee success. The outer space involves developing space station, establishing control units, launching area and thorough analysis of weather, geographical patterns and team of intellectual scholars to monitor journey. Likewise, factory work involves assembly lines, gathering of components from suppliers, automated programs to monitor the tasks, manual labor, supply chain and outlets.

Secondly, the claim of the author that use of robots have been successful could be misleading. It does not indicate how many overall endeavors were made and its success ratio. There is a huge probability that in twenty years, nearly three, five, eight or more attempts were made and hardly one or two might have been successful. Based on this, one cannot conclude that use of robots will necessarily be successful in factory jobs.

Thirdly, the author is wrong in its claim when he postulates that robots are more efficient. Nothing can ever have one hundred percent efficiency, neither humans nor robots. Even robots need to be recharged. The author seems ignorant of the risk factor involving in case of mishap or malfunction which could lead to a complete catastrophe. There could be damage to infrastructure, surrounding milieu and production may come to stalemate leading to dwindling sales. Likewise, the claim that robots are more effective is misleading. As human beings, we can make on the spot decisions whereas the robots can only do what they are programmed to do. If the tasks involve humane rationality, the substantial investment in robots could be rendered fruitless.

Fourthly, the author assumes that replacing human labor with robots will incite factory workers for a more satisfying and lucrative job in place of carrying out the same tedious job. There are millions of factory workers in any country and for them that is the only source of livelihood. If innumerable people are replaced with robots, it might lead to spike in unemployment numbers and in some cases, there might be revolt or uprising by residents.

By the virtue of above stated assumptions and their underlying consequences, one can reasonably conclude that the author is unwarranted in its claims.