The following appeared as a letter to the editor of a farming publication.” With continuing publicity about the need for healthful diets and the new research about the harmful effects of eating too much sugar, nationwide demand for sugar should no doubt decline. Therefore, farmers in our state should use the land on which they currently grow sugar cane to grow peanuts, a food that is rich in protein and low in sugar. Farmers in the neighboring country of Palin greatly increased their production of peanuts last year and their total revenues were quite high.”

The author contends that the country he is referring to should produce more of peanuts for increased revenue of the country and for ensuring healthy diet for its citizens. This is based on the evidence of Palin country in which they saw high revenues from peanuts and the awareness about the deleterious effects of excess consumption of sugar. However, the argument is filled with various assumptions and one needs to be more comprehensive and specific to make it valid.

Firstly, the author has assumed that both environmental conditions of both countries are alike. That is they have similar type of land and weather. As humans we know, that the yield of crops depends largely on myriad of factors such as quality of land, top soil, temperature, rainfall, seasons, skills of farmers and technological advantages. Though the countries are neighboring, they may have completely contrasting environmental and weather conditions. There is a very high probability that the Palin country fulfills all the requirements necessary to produce peanuts but the land of the country the author refers to might not be fecund. Moreover, the skill sets of the farmers in both countries might be distinct and Palin may have access to better skilled farmers and advanced machineries to produce and harvest the crop which might not be the case in the country the author mentions.

Secondly, in the claim that similar land be used for growing peanuts which was once used for growing sugarcane, the author does not give or rather ignores specificity, that is, the land which is optimum for one type of crop might not at all be favorable for other. Instead, the countries could get into agreement whereby one country peddles sugar to them while other sells required quantity of peanuts to them in a way that is lucrative to both the country’s governments and their residents.

Thirdly, the author assumes only peanut as the alternative to high protein intake. What if people in the country the author refers to loath taking it and sales don’t happen? In that case, the entire investment of growing peanuts might be rendered futile and fruitless. There are various alternatives to high protein apart from peanut such as meat, cashew and other vegetables. The author doesn’t mention anything about the types of protein intake food the citizens would themselves prefer. Taking a decision only on the basis of results of neighboring country is completely unwarranted.

Fourthly, the author of the argument assumes that the extent of research about the harmful effects of sugar has reached everyone and all are aware about it. The author has presented nothing about the country he refers to – what is it’s size, how developed the country is, what are the employment opportunities for people, population density or its overall population. There is a great chance only a selected few might be aware of the research published. Others might be oblivious of it. Likewise, the extent of reach of publicity might be misleading as it might have ignored rural areas which might constitute huge amount or even most of the population of the country.

Fifthly, the research in context is only recently published and recent claims can’t be taken at face values. It might still be under development, open to debates and criticism and might even be debunked in the distant future.

Sixthly, the author claims that Palin country saw significant increases in revenue in the preceding year. But it doesn’t give an extent as to how high it has increased from its previous year(s). The author doesn’t provide a systematic analysis on a year on a year basis not are there any charts or numbers illustrating demand, supply or revenue details. Simply arriving to a conclusion on the basis of just one year is sheer stupidity. As we all know, whatever must go up must come down. Likewise, the increase could be offset by dwindling sales in the coming years.

Seventhly, the author has assumed that the country will be successful in delivering peanuts without mentioning how it will reach end consumers. The author does not state and give any pre-defined safety standards of supply chain. If the country is underdeveloped or if there is a natural or man-made calamity, it might fail both in its process of growing crops and delivering the same.

Hence, we can conclude that the factors present by the author in the claim needs to be more detailed, comprehensive and specific to make it sound.