Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Global warming has been a tremendously rising issue that has had detrimental effects on the living. A similar consequence of this issue has been presented in the above argument regarding the decline of number of deer populations in a particular region that hindered the migration and search for food. However this consequence cannot be solely related to the only evidence provided in the argument. The coming paragraphs provide examples that should be considered that can also result into decline of the deer populations.

The first and the most serious evidence that would be needed to ensure is that there is no invasion of any other predator species in the Arctic region. Due to changing trends in global warming, there might be a possibility of migration of a predator species which can consume the deer habitats for their survival. This might also lead to a decrease in their population even if the habitats are still capable of carrying out their travel across the frozen sea.

Now if we consider that the deer populations are still effective in carrying out their age old migration patterns we yet need evidence to ensure that there are sufficient food resources available to them for their survival on the other part of the island. There are chances that they may cross over the frozen sea and yet there may be a dearth of food resources that may lead to an insufficient consumption and thereby a decline in their number by starvation.

Even if we consider that the above argument presented is true, we need sufficient evidence to ensure that the changing trends due to global warming is specifically causing any effects in that particular area. There may be a possibility that the local hunters observing a decline in the population number and the changing trends are a mere coincident and though the deleterious effects of global warming are rife may not be that severe or leading to melting of sea cover in the arctic regions of Canada.

All this evidence shows that there may also be other factors that may contribute to the decline in the habitat population. The evidence taken into consideration in the argument may however be related to the issue but not necessarily be the only responsible factor to the consequence.