The argument to be analyzed is as follows:

Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above argument, it is stated that investments in high-quality protective gear and equipment can help in reducing the risk of skaters being injured in an accident. This conclusion was reached due to the hospital statistics that show that the majority of the injuries are due to the rollerskaters not be wearing protective gear. Before this recommendation can be evaluated, three assumptions must be taken into consideration.

First of all, the argument does not provide any actual figures and numbers to indicate the total number of skaters. Also, there is no mention of the number of skaters who met with an accident. In addition to that, it does not mention the number of hospitals from which the data was collected. Instead, it vaguely mentions that the injured roller skaters go to the emergency rooms according to the hospital statistics. It is quite possible that not all roller skaters who meet with an accident go to the emergency room of the hospital that was surveyed. Some of them might have decided to go to another hospital that was not surveyed.

Secondly, It makes a vague statement by stating that 75 % of the injured skaters did not use protective gears. Since the number is not mentioned, it is quite possible that overall, only a few skaters were injured. Maybe in 100 skaters, only 4 skaters were injured. Out of this, maybe only 3 were found to not have used the protective gears.

Thirdly, the argument falsely assumes that investments in high-quality gears can reduce skater accidents. It is quite possible that the severe injuries were caused not only by the absence of protective gear but also by the traffic in the area where the skaters skate. It is possible that the skaters skate in the areas where the traffic is pretty high. It is possible that a heavy vehicle such as a lorry or truck might have caused the accident. In this case, no amount of protective gear can prevent severe injuries of the skaters.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now has several flaws due to several assumptions. Those flaws must be addressed in order to evaluate the suggestion.