Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show progress. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the present times, society is polarised into two groups regarding the notion that whether the students who score the highest in the exams should be presented with rewards or the ones who show improvements in their grades deserve to be rewarded. In my opinion, students belonging to both these categories must be awarded. This essay will discuss both these points of view before elaborating on my opinion.

On the one hand, it is important to give accolades to the pupils who top their institution or class in the exams for myriad reasons. Firstly, practicing this does justice to all the hard work that these top students put in to be the best among their peers. Secondly, though these candidates are intelligent and hardworking, not receiving any credits/praise for their achievements can decline their interest in studies consequently leading to a lack of interest in their studies.

On the other hand, recognizing pupils for showing progress has its own set of advantages associated with it. It not only boosts their confidence but also galvanizes them to study and work harder to reach the top. For example, recent studies conducted by the Ministry of Education in India indicated that the students who we appreciated for their progress started working hard to achieve more than what they had scored in their previous tests, Therefore, recognizing these students has added benefits associated with it.

Having discussed both the school of thought, I would like to infer that it is advisable to recognize both these candidates as they both equally deserve to be awarded so that this act can help bolster their confidence and help them to work hard.