The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement above and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how those considerations shape your position.

Human beings are creative creatures. Our ability to think creatively sets us apart from the rest of the animals. When we are stuck or in the midst of a problem or when we wish to live comfortably, we tend to look for solutions. That gives rise to a number of ideas. The prompt suggests that the best ideas are born when we have a passionate interest in ordinary things around us. I partially agree with this statement for the reasons explicated in this essay.

The main reason why I agree with the prompt is that ordinary things have inspired many scientists, authors, and artists to come up with terrific ideas. I believe that it depends on one's perspective of viewing things which varies from person to person. For instance, James Watt, the inventor of the steam engine, was inspired by steam. Everyone back then knew what steam is, but Watt was the one who had the ability to think of a way of utilizing the benefits of steam to build a steam engine. His idea of using steam for powering the engine was inspired by his interest in something as ordinary as steam. Hence, the ones with incisive minds having intrests in ordinary things tend to come up with an idea for the betterment of our lives.

A lot of inventions and innovations resulted from “commplace interests”. For example, the Wright brothers. Airplanes were the brainchild of the wright brothers due to their interest in a concept as basic as flight. They wondered if humans could ever fly like birds. This led to the invention of Aeroplanes.

On the contrary, it is not feasible to say that only passionate interest in ordinary things can help in getting the best ideas. For example, the Big Bang Theory which led us to understand the mystery of the universe was not inspired by a commonplace thing.The universe is a complex topic to discuss. Hence, it not always that the best ideas are inspired by commonplace things.

However, if one gets myriad ideas by one's interest in ordinary things, one should be brave enough to handle the criticism that one might face when one suggests changes or innovations. Take Galileo for instance. His interest in the universe cost him his reputation and his life as he was charged with blasphemy as the religious groups were not up to accept changes in their belief of the solar system. Hence, if one has the ability to get inspired by ordinary things, one must have the capacity to handle censures.

While it is possible to get the best ideas by having a passionate interest in commonplace things, it is also possible to gain ideas by complex concepts.