Argument Essay:-->The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava."The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the num

While the birth rates affect the population change in the city, the authors' argument is rife with holes and assumptions. He built his conclusion on an unreliable evidence. Moreover, his recommendations are evasive.

First, the authors' argument is not strong enough since it is depends on the comparison between the birth rate in two years, comparing two numbers does not give a valid result. For example, it might be the birth rate of the last four years was increasing, and just the birth rate at last year significantly decreased. Furthermore, the author did not state how the birth rate was obtained, the residents might have their babies at nearby hospitals in different cities, so the birth certificates will have other cities on it, which would give a fallacious idea about the birth rates in the city. The author would back his argument if he included the birth rates of the last five years or more.

building on the implication of the decline in the birth rate, the author concluded that the number of students enrolled in the public schools will soon decrease dramatically. At the same time, the author ignored the other factors of students' enrollment in public schools, most importantly, the population change in the city. For instance, many families with children might move into the city, this will increase the enrollment rates. Also, the birth rate of one year cannot be representative of the number of students who will enroll in the public school for the next ten years. the recommendation that the city can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education and recreational facilities during the next decade is evasive and erratic.

Finally, while the author seems optimistic about having the sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, it is not reliable expectation that the adult population of the city will increase. as mentioned before families with children may move in the city, also, students may attend colleges and university outside the city. Only the population change analysis can be used effectively to strengthen the author's argument.

In conclusion, the author did make a cogent case, since the argument is not logical. It is important to take into consideration all the data which affect the school enrollment and population change.