Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The speaker unreasonably concludes that the super screen company should increase their budget in order to reach the public through advertising.The statement is purely unsubstantial,irrational.Unless the speaker provides an relevant information with provided statistical data this can't be a cogent argument.

Firstly,The speaker fails to mention the complete details of the recent report which he refers to.The actual number of people who attended the super screen-produced movies is not given in the argument rather he just gave a note of fewer people than any in other year.It could support more if the information was given with statistics from over all years.

Secondly,He states that the percentage of reviews which are postive has increased when compared last year.But how do we know it is true?There should be clear analysis of both the years so that the reviews can be estimated.However,The content of these reviews is not reaching the viewers.This might be a reason if the production company itself might have given the reviews hence it is not reaching the people.Which is not acceptable and there is no point in increasing the budget if they get reviews of their own people.

Thirdly,As stated above if no clear information of the reviews given by what type of people until then can't be concluded that people are not properly aware that movies of good quality are available although they make better movies.Hence,the public reviews could augment this issue with relevant information of the type of reviews even about the quality of movies.

In the conclusion,As the speaker failed to give the requisite information and the relevant data of the type of movies they make and also the kind of reviews they get from audience could help this argument understand more precisely.Thus this can't be deemed to be persuasive.