According to an independent poll of 200 charitable organizations, overall donations of money to nonprofit groups increased last year, but educational institutions did not fare as well as other organizations. Donations to international aid groups increased the most (30 percent), followed by donations to environmental groups (23 percent), whereas donations to educational institutions actually decreased slightly (3 percent). Meanwhile, all of the major economical indicators suggest that consumer spending is higher than average this year, showing that potential donors have ample disposable income. Therefore, the clearest explanation for the decline in donations to educational institutions is that people actually value education less than they did in the past.

The speaker unreasonably concludes that decline in donations to the educational institutions is because people don't value education when compared in the past.This statement is not eloquent and purely irrational.Unless,there is no proper explanation is provided with relevant examples and statistics this argument can't be a cogent argument.

Firstly,The speaker mentions about the over all donations of money to nonprofit groups is increased over the earlier year but failed to state the real donation amount in both the years.The poll of 200 charitable organizations was taken but the statistical data of the polls is missing.On what basis did he conclude that education institutions did not do better as compared with the other organizations however,he also failed to state what the other organizations refer to?

Secondly,The donations to international aid groups increasing to 30 percent and also the enviromental groups to 23 percent doesn't provide an adequate statistical data to support the argument.Even the educational institutions decreasing percentage is calculated on what basis?What if the previous years had almost same percentage over all which is not mentioned.Although it is decreased by the previous year the actual percentage can be compared only if the before once is provided.

Thirdly,The economic indicators suggesting the consumer spending is higher than average of the year is not evidently proven in the argument.How can he conclude that the donors are potential enough and have ample disposable income?There might be a chance that they are just making their market spread more and publicize to people by doing such donations.What if some people who don't like to enjoy luxuries instead spend their money by donations.Henceforth,it is very uncertain to come to conclusion as donors have disposable income.

In the conclusion,There is no stated evidence to prove that the decline of donations to educational institutions is less because people value education substantially low when compared with the past.As the speaker failed to provide most empirical evidence to rationalize the evidence of the argument. A significant amount of more data could help us clearly support the reason behind the decline of donations in particular area.Thus,the argument can't be deemed to be persuasive.