Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the advertising director says that the company should increase its budget for advertising purposes as the movies are not reaching out the public. He makes this announcement based on the reasons that most reviews are positive about the quality of the movies but the movies are not getting popular. So, he has made the recommendation to increase the advertising budget. Before the recommendations get materialised, a few questions need to be answered.

First of all, who gives these positive reviews? Do the reviewers represent the people of all ages? It is possible that most of the reviewrs are not adults. They might consist of children and adolescents. If they are are children and teens, do their interests attract the adults? Adults might not be interested in the shows, which contain cartoon or anime elements. If this is true, then the conclusion drawn in the argument are weakened.

Finally, the arugemnet claims that the company's problem lies not with quality of the products. But, it is possible that the main problem with the company perhaps is the quality of the contents they produce. They may produce the contents, which are not qualified to watch. They may produce the contents which attract a small portion of the people, who do not have much knowledge about the quality. If this is true, the argument does not hold water.

The argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to its over reliance on multiple unwarranted assumptions. If these questions are answered, and the authority offers more evidence conducted based on scientific research method, then it will be possible to examine the viability of increasing the advertising budget to make the contents popular.