The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum, it has been stated that the authority persons have decided to take some measures to increase the profit, declining recently, of the company. To do that, they have identified some changes needed to be implemented. However, before the recommendations get materialized, three questions must be answered.

First of all, is not increasing the rental prices a viable way to improve profits? It might not contribute in increasing the profit, what the company wants to do now. It is possible that the low rental price might make many people think that the products, the company produces, are not high quality products, and therefore people do not get interested in watching its products. If it has merit, the argument will not hold water.

Second, the authority persons have decided that they will close the watching earlier. This might have detrimental effects on increasing the profit. Many people would watch the movies, the company produces, beyond their proposed closure time. This might happen that if they reduce the broadcasting time, many people, who are enjoying now, will cease watching their channel. If this is true, the argument does not hold water.

Finally, they have also decided that they will reduce their stock by eliminating the movies released more than 5 years ago. This might get them backfired. It is highly credible that, the old movies might hold many viewers together to this date. If they are going to eliminate them, then they are going to lose these viewers, who eventually lead them not gaining their objectives.

In the conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If these questions are answered, and the authority offers more evidence, it will be possible to evaluate the viability of implementing these measures discussed in the prompt to increase the profit.