The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The concerns of the director of student housing revolve around some facts like the college's recent enrollment trend and the recent increase in average rent in off-campus sites. So, he calls for new dormitories to be made. However, this urge for immediate action is actually based on a few assumptions that are not justified clearly. As a result, the conclusion the director put forward is weak in nature.

At first, Buckingham's enrollment trend needs to be examined closely. The fact that he assumed the enrollment will double in the next 50 years depends on this trend. The director took the current trajectory and extrapolated it for 50 years. This extrapolation might be unwarranted as there could be many external factors for this trend. And, these factors can diminish in a very short amount of time. For example, the increase in population in the surrounding areas of the college can amount for this trend. However, this increase can be directly related to the immigration policy which is susceptible to change in a very short amount of time.

Also, the director cites off-campus housing costs as a reason for their suggestion. This is also based on the current situation. There might be many reasons as to why the housing costs are rising. But, there is no direct evidence that this cost will sustain for a very long time. This increase in rent can be a result of other transient phenomena. For example, many cities face the increase in prices and commodities as a consequence of some booming businesses but as these businesses vanish the prices also decreases. So, the assumption that off-campus housing rent will increase according to the current trend is also not justified.

There is one underlying assumption that new dormitories will attract more students. Many factors determine whether a college is attractive to a particular student. Housing facilities may be an important factor. However, no direct correlation between these two things is established. Hence, using a significant portion of the college's budget to build new dormitories can backfire too since the budget could be distributed proportionally to all the sectors such as academic building, laboratories etc.

Another assumption is that all students need housing opportunities on-campus. The significant portion of the college's student body can come from surrounding cities in which case the housing problem will not at all be concerning factor.

Overall, the director's concerns are altruistic, but also presumptuous. Many studies should be done and other external factors should be pondered before deciding whether new dormitories should be built for students. The urge from the director of student housing is simply based on too many assumptions. Consequently, any decision made as a result of the director's convictions will be unjustified.