"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The prompt says that to prepare the young people for leadership, it is needed that they should be competitive, not cooperative. I yield that competition is needed to get the best version of oneself out. But, cooperation is also needed for a prosperous society. There are a few reasons in support of the claims, which I am going to discuss in the following sections.

To begin with, competition is compulsory for a nation to reach its peak. Competition helps a person get the best version of himself out. For example, in the secons world war, the allied force scientists and central force scientists both competed with each other to produce nuclear bombs. It was due to the competition, which made one of them be successful in producing the bombs in a very short period of time. If there was no competition to produce the nuclear bombs between the allied force and the central force, it would not be possible to produce a nuclear bomb, which was a huge project to materialise, in such a short period of time. Many examles can be shown in the support of the claim that competition is imperative for a nation to reach its culmination of development.

But, even though competition is necessary to reach the peak of development, it is cooperation, which plays a vital role in the sustainable development. Without cooperation, in the macro level, the nation cannot reach its highest point. If the competitive persons do not help each other, a big project will not succeed. It can be extrapolated to the previous example. The competition existed not only between the alied force and the central force, but between the scientists among the allied force. But, it was not only competition, but it was cooperation existed among them, that ultimately made the project successful. If cooperation did not exist among the scientists of the allied force, they would get jealous of other's achievements, and might not help them succeeding further, that ultimately cost the whole project.

In my conclusion, the prompt is not a trivial one to state a solid conclusion. Both competition and cooperation have merits and demerits of their own. In my opnion, I prefer these two to be present in everyone, who wants to succeed.