Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Advertising Director of Super Screen Movie Production Company has put forward an opinion of increasing the budget for advertising their movie reviews the next year. He came to this conclusion owing to the recent report that stated that only a few people attended their movies the previous year compared to any other year despite getting more positive reviews in the that year. Before this recommendation can be put into play, few questions have to be answered.

Firstly, How many people actually participated in the survey whose report details are mentioned in the paragraph? Is it across the globe or only in that particular country where the director resides? This data is lacking in the paragraph given. If the report is generated with the views of only the people of a particular country, then arguing that the viewership has reduced is futile. As the Super Screen Movie company releases movies in different parts of the world and in different languages, considering eveyone's opinion is highly mandatory. May be, only the last year, from that particular country people have not watched their many movies due to the ongoing pandemic or many other reasons. The clarity on these points is missing.

Secondly, the director claims that the percent of postive reviews on particular superscreen movies has increased the previous year. He uses the word 'specific' which lands us in doubt. What genre of movies have got increasing positive reviews that the director is mentioning? Is it the same genre that people had not gone to watch. There is no substantial evidence for this. What if the reviews are for one movie and the survey report was of another movie? The paragraph lacks thorough information regarding this.

Thirdly, are the reviews genuine? Is there any proof that they aren't manupulated by paying the reviewers their share to write only the positive reviews? The paragraph does not answer to this question. If their movies were actually bad and if the reviewers have manupulated them to be good, people might have gone to watch the movie. But because of the bad content, they would have obviously recommended their fellow peers to not watch that particular movie which in turn reduces the viewership. This is basically termed as 'word of mouth' advertising which sometimes proves to be more powerful than the tranditional advertisements on TV or Newspaper.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to lack of evident reasons and deep information. If the director is able to answer the above questions, then the viablity of increasing the bidget for advertising can be evaluated properly.