A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Today's students are tomorrow's leaders. So having them study the right curriculam at early stages of their life is absolutely a topic which requires deep thought. The prompt suggests that there should be a common syllabus for the students of an entire country until they pass out high school. I mostly agree with the author's point of view and would argue that maintaining a same syllabus for everybody would be beneficial to the nation.

Setting up a proper curriculum that would enhance the way a student thinks and learns in the initial stages of his life is an arduous task. Many vital points have to be taken into consideration while doing so. However, coming up with such an effective syllabus would prove beneficial to the nation in a long run. Coming to the point of having a common curriculum, I personally feel this would be fruitful as maintaining uniformity would enhance equality among people. There will be no question of saying that a particular state's syllabus is diffciult when compared to the syllabus of an other state. Evaluation of students based on merit will become fair.

To support the previous point, an example of Andhra Pradesh State Board and Bihar State Board can be taken. It is a common belief that the board results of Andhra Pradesh can reach a peak as high as 98% in SSC whereas a topper who is from Bihar hardly scores a 78%. While these two students have an equal caliber, it is the difference in their curriculam that is giving an extra advantage in terms of marks to one student and revoking this facility from the other.

Secondly, let us consider an example of a father who is employed in a particular job which demands him to move different places in the country and stay there for a period of time. In other words, if a father's job involves frequent transfers around the country, their children are bound to move along with them. For such students, it would be very easy to catchup on the syllabus if the same curiculum is maintained across the whole country. The father's work would not hamper his child's education.

When the recommendation in the prompt is evaluated properly, we can come across a disadvantage too. Having a same curriculum would have an indirect effect on the study of local languages. It is a known fact that all the local languages present in the country cannot be taught to each individual. It is the different state boards that teach their students their local language. To maintain a common syllabus means to select and include only few of these languges which would be unfair. The proper solution to this would be to exclude the languages part when designing the common curriculum. The choice of language can be left to each individual. This would serve the purpose of the author more efficiently.