Essay topics:

Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The person, in his letter to the editor of a magazine that publishes information related to space and aeronautics, has suggested that investment should be made on space flights that do not carry a human for its mission. He comes to this conclusion owing to the risks and expenses incurred when a man is sent on the mission. However, before this recommendation can properly be evaluated, the following questions must be answered.

To begin, the writer assumes that both the manned spacecrafts and unmanned space probes do the same job when are launched into space. If they both do the same tasks, why there had been 2 variants in these space probes in the first place. Firstly, the information that can be extracted from space by these 2 types of space satellites much be analysed. If a human is mandatory when on a mission, to evaluate the different dimensions of space then, launching only unmanned space flights would not serve the purpose.

Secondly, the recent success of unmanned space probes is mentioned in the letter. The writer assumes that, as the recent launches of unmanned satellites were successful, the future launches would also be successful. This cannot be guaranteed without a valid proof. He also assumes that all the launches of manned satellites would be futile. Even such a statement cannot hold water without a valid observation and reasoning.

Thirdly, the writer terms the manned space probes as 'expensive' and the unmanned ones to be 'cheap'. What is exactly that is making the manned satellites costly is the question. Is it the highly delicate parts that are being used in the manufacturing has to be known. The delicate parts not only being extremely effective, may also have been contributing to the risk of ruining the space shuttle. If this is properly studied and corrected, the risk factor associated with the manned shuttles can be reduced to a very large extent.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands now, is significantly flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the writer is able to properly answer the above-mentioned questions, then the viability of investing only in unmanned space flights can be evaluated properly.