The regional brand manager sent the following memo to the national brand manager for Sun-Beem Facial Cleanser.

“We need to institute a huge publicity campaign for the launch of Sun-Beem’s improved formula. Without an enormous media blitz, including television, radio, internet, and magazine ads, potential new customers will not be aware of our product. And previous customers will not be aware that Sun-Beem’s new, non-carcinogenic formula is on the shelves. The best way to combat the negative publicity Sun-Beem’s old formula received is to fight fire with fire, by using the media’s insatiable interest in any new news about Sun-Beem to sell the new formula. This will erase the negative connotations in the minds of former customers, and will ensure that Sun-Beem is once again the best-selling facial cleanser on the market.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

While the regional brand manger's strategy may seem rational and thorough, as a way to ensure that Sun-Beem is once again the best-selling facial cleanser on the market, his argument does not provide enough evidence and lacks quantitative data to back his claim. In order to fully evaluate this argument, we need to have a significant amount of additional evidence.

To begin with, how can we evaluate that the new formula is actually better than its older version? Just by merely stating that it is non-carcinogenic would not meet the needs. Making people understand the harmful effects of carcinogens and that, the absence of them in the new cleanser is what that their faces need is much important. People are more attracted to proofs. So conducting a trial on a group of people and publishing the positive impact the cleanser had on their faces would make the public regain the trust that was lost due to the inefficient older version of the Cleanser.

Before all this, the main point that needs to be ensured is the reason the public refuted the previous formula. The reason for the negative connotations in the minds of former customers has to be known. If the reason is the inefficiency of the previous formula to deliver what it claimed, then proceeding with the above-mentioned strategy and relying on advertising the new formula serves the purpose. But if the reason is some other factor, then other methods need to be used. One possible reason could be the high price of the older cleaner and the launch of relatively less priced competitor's cleansers. So in order to get back the former customers, selling the new cleanser at a discounted price in the beginning and later after the trust is re-gained due to the effectiveness of the new formula, the price can be gradually increased. In this way, there is a high chance for the company to strive to be at the top position in the market.

So, just by advertising that a new formula is going to be launched won't re-attract the customer base once the company had. Deciding a perfect strategy keeping in mind al the above points would surely meet the expectations on the Firm.