Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation provided by the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company states that the company should allocate a greater share of its budget in the following year to reach public through advertising. This is based on the fact that during the past year, fewer people attended the Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year, even though the percentage of pisitive reviews increased. The director has interpreted that the issue lies not with the quality of the movies but the fact that the public is not aware of their good quality movies. The director has arrived at the reccomendation without giving enough thought to the different posibilities that may have led to reduced viewership.

Firstly, it is important to consider the trend in the viewership of movies at an overall level. Whether people watched less movies, produced by other companies as well, during the past year as compared to previous years. If this is the case, then the reason for reduced viewership could external such as reduced spending limits of people on entertainment.

Another key factor would be to understand if the company has made any changes in the kind of movies they produced earlier, such as a change in genre. It is highly possible that the company over the years produced movies that appealed to a particular audience and due to a change they lost that loyal audience during the past year. For example, if Super Screen always produced action movies, then the action movie enthusiasts would be less likely to turn up for a romantic movie that the company produced last year.

The memo states that the percentage of positive reviews by the movie reviewers increased in the past one year. It would be critical to note whether over the years, the same aspects in a movie have appealed to both the critics and the audience. The critics may look for completely different aspects such as story, direction, cinematics while the audience may watch a movie for its cast or music. If this is the case, then the increased positive reviews by the reviewers may not be a motivation enough for the audiences to watch the movie.

The company instead of directly arriving at a conclusion of increasing the advertising budget, should focus on arriving at the root cause of the reduced viewership. The company can analyse the audience sentiments, look for data to understand what percentage of the audience is aware of the movies that were produced, what are the sources through which audiences gather this information, in case they have heard of the movies what have been their sentiments around it, in case they watched the movie, what were their reviews and so on. Such analysis will help validate the assumption of whether the contents are not reaching enough of their prospective viewers and will help the company take a more informed decision.