Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study

The statement provided for discussion is that 'Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study'

Most universities have fields in which students can complete their majors and gain degrees for example Computer Science, Political Science, Home Science, etc. To complete majors in one of these fields, typically the students are required to complete a certain number of credits. They need to take up a minimum expected number of courses related to the field they are majoring in.

The students batch opting to complete majors in a particular field is usually very diverse. These students come from different backgrounds, may have completed thier graduation or earlier education in different fields and may have different past work experiences.

Given that students make have different interests beyond their field of study, given their past backgrounds and given the availability of multiple varied courses within the university, it would be a good idea for the universities to ensure that every student takes up a variety of courses outside the students field of interest.

There are other positives to this idea as well. Taking varied courses will ensure a good change and break the monotony of studying similar courses. It will allow students to explore other areas of interest and excel at them. This will be a good opportunity for the students to think outside the box and apply the learnings from other fields to their field of study, wherever applicable. It will allow students the opportunity to interact with students across the university, learn from their experience and perspectives.

Universities can come up with a minimum number of credits that students could complete by taking any course which does not closely relate to their field of study. The minimum requirement could be attending the lectures but not having any evaluation. This could ensure that the students would really take up a course that they would love to explore without worrying about grades.