A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

The scenario provided to us is of a pet food company that recalled 4 million pounds of pet food due to complaints that the pets that consumed this food had experienced vomiting, lethargy and other illness. The argument states that the recalled food was not responsible for pets falling ill and hence, the company should not devote further resources to the investigation. This is based on the understanding that the recalled food samples tested by the company had chemicals which were approved for use in pet food.

Multiple pets being affected after consuming the pet food could be a mere coincidence. But if this number is large, then there is a good chance of the existence of an underlying reason that caused this event. The company should not just dismiss the fact that their product is responsible for these symptoms, based on a few tests that the run on the recalled samples. There are a lot of factors and possible explanations that need to be considered before arriving at such a conclusion.

The company needs to understand what is the size of the pet population that was affected and showed signs of symptoms as compared to the total pets that consumed the pet food. Had each of these pets consumed the same batch of pet food. The manufacturing and selling of any product is a long process and goes through various stages - gathering of raw ingredients, manufacturing at a particular location, testing of products at a particular location, storage and delivery through a particular supplier and so on. It would be important for the company to understand if all the pets that showed signs of illness consumed pet food from a particular batch or on a particular date.

Next, the company needs to take into account the size of the pet population that was affected as compared to the total pet population that consumed the food. Surveying and understanding what is the commonality between the affected pets is critical for the company to get to the bottom of the matter. Some of the factors that the company needs to look into can be as follows - Did each of these pets consumed the same batch of the product? Do all the affected pets belong to a particular breed? Did all these pets belong to a particular region? Did all these pet consumed any food product before or after consuming the pet food or did they perform any common activity.

Recalling all 4 million pounds of pet food and testing only a few samples of the entire lot, would not serve the purpose. The company needs to ensure that at least one sample of each batch has been tested to make a claim that the recalled food did not cause the stated symptoms in pets. Chemicals in a food product need not be the only reason that could cause side-effects. Expiration of the product, spoilage of the product due to weather conditions like heat, humidity, temperature or chemical reactions due to the product being consumed after another product are few of the many possible reasons.

The company should conduct an in-depth analysis to find out what could have possibly caused these illnesses. The company should take ownership and test every possible scenario and only once it is confident, it should go ahead and declare that it is not responsible for the event that occurred.