Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

The claim provided states that the overall effect of mass media and the internet on people has been positive. Athough, mass media and the internet have caused attention spans to get shorter, they have enhanced people's ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what's important. The impact of mass media and internet on people has been analysed only through two lens, the impact on attention spans and processing abilities of people. While there are a number of other psychological and emotional areas that get impact, just based on the two factors considered in the claim, I disagree that the overall effect has been positive.

Mass media and the internet provide a plethora of information on an ongoing basis to the viewers. Most of these media agencies benefit based on the viewership that they garner. Hence, they make sure to share information as soon as they can, before any other agency or channel covers it. In this process, most of the information is headlined or structured in a way that it entices the audience. Many a times they overlook the process of validating the information to make sure that the information shared is accurate or not.

There are various sources of obtaining this information such as television and endless number of social media sites. The cost of accessing these social media websites is almost nil, most social media websites just need you to have an internet connect, login via the internet connection and pay no additional charges. This makes access to all the information extremely simple for anyone and everyone. Most of these sites have interfaces that ensure that the users are hooked to the website. Example, Facebook the concept of like and share makes sure that your mind is constantly caught up in the site even when you are off it. Also, the information can be easily circulated given the nature of the apps or websites, making more and more people a part of this chain. For example, it is extremely easy to share a Whatsapp message from one group to another, without really validating it.

As people are constantly a part of this reading and sharing process and due to the vast amounts of information that is being made available to them every second, their mind is constantly cluttered. They cannot focus at the task at hand, they do not have the time or the capacity to interpret the information they just accesses. Their mind keeps jumping from one piece of information to another. The reduction is attention spans of people is an issue that is being discussed on an ongoing basis. Reduced attention spans have affected personal and professional lives of people in deleterious ways. Various methods and means to cope up with this issue are being discussed and implemented such as phones now have detox mode that helps people switch off for a set period of time, use of pomodoro techniques to improve focus etc.

I do not agree that the ability of people to sort through large quantities of information and find out what is more important has improved to an extent that we may consider the overall effects of the internet positive. People can classify information as important based on the frequency of them seeing a piece of information, based on the extent to which a particular issue is being discussed or highlighted, based on what is easily accessible and so on. The recommendation features of websites are built in a way that people can be forced to believe that a certain piece of information is important, even though that may not be true. Hence, these methods of sorting information may be incorrect and may contribute to enhancing the ability of sorting and processing information for humans.