Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

The statement provided for discussion is that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Other believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society. There are multiple aspects that can be addressed as a part of this statement. First, what are the different ways in which moral values can be inculcated or passed on to children. Of those diverse ways, what would be the most effective way. And second, to discuss whether morality is linked to logical reasoning.

Morality encompasses thoughts, intentions and actions. The ability to differentiate between right and wrong, the intention of wanting to do the right thing and the ability to take actions to ensure that we are doing the right thing. Moral foundations are passed on to children starting from a very young age. As they grow up, they use this moral compass to channel their thoughts and actions. How every child's moral value is shaped up depends on the learnings that they have had as well as the experiences that they gained have along the years.

As mentioned above, moral values can be inculcated in children through different means and sources. Schools play a very important role in shaping moral values for the children. School curriculum for the initial years include fables and stories that culminate with a moral lesson. Infact, in Indian schools Moral Science is a subject that the children undertake for all of their primary schooling years. Parents and the extended members of the society in which these children grow up, play a very important role in bolstering the learnings these children gain from school. Children tend to pickup or learn more from what they see, hear and experience on a daily basis.

The second part of the statement mentions that the foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society. I do not agree to this statement. A logical action may not necessarily be moral in nature and vice-versa. For example, consider a situation where a destitute child, living on the streets steals an apple kept outside a grocery store for display. The moral compass says that stealing is unacceptable. The logical side of us allows us to understand the fact that the child was hungry, did not have the cash to pay for food and hence, had to resort to means of stealing for his own survival. Having said this, schools should definitely focus on strengthening the logical foundations of children from an early age along with strengthening moral foundations. The two need not be mutually exclusive.

Hence, I believe that morality should be the foundation of education. Children should not only be taught what is factually right or wrong, they should also be explained the various situations and scenarios that need to be taken into consideration while deciding what is morally acceptable. Schools should impart practical knowledge, put children through various simulated situations to help them think of their own, take a decision and eventually learn through their own experiences.