Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The statement provided for analysis is that 'Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduced the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits'.

E-mail correspondence is one of the main methods by which employees of any organization communicate. This communication can be within the organization with fellow employees or outside of the organization with vendors, partners etc. Within the organization, the e-mail can be personal that is limited to a set of people involved in a particular project. Leads of verticals within a company such as Finance, Human, Resources etc also use e-mails to send out group communications i.e. a common email to all the employees of a firm.

There are two points that need to be taken into consideration when addressing this issue. First, e-mails are considered as form of formal communication. Once an e-mail is sent out, it cannot be retracted as all the content is now documented and available to the receiver. A large number of decisions in a company are taken based purely on the communication through a chain of e-mails. Hence it is very important that the statements used in these e-mails are accurate and also respectful towards the involved stakeholders. Second, it is known through multiple surveys that a large part of the employees days is spend reading and responding to emails. The same time could be utilized in actually completing the required action items.

Given the above two points, company management should consider providing training around best practices for drafting e-mails. The training sessions could include guidelines around around how to draft crisp and concise e-mails, how to draft e-mails in a formal manner yet effective manner, who are the stakeholders that should be typically addressed etc. A set of e-mails templates addressing different types of subjects can be shared with the employees as examples for reference. Training employees will ensure reducing the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, which is the intention of the author.

Most company e-mails contain sensitive data such as numbers, facts and figures. Employees may also use e-mails for personal communications will fellow employees. Most companies would like to operate by building a culture of trust among the employees. Monitoring their e-mail would indicate lack of trust and also invasion of their privacy. Also, a company might have a million e-mails a day, monitoring those and then having a conversation with each of the employees who seem to detract will be a tedious task. Hence, monitoring employee e-mails does not seem to be the best method to achieve the stated desired outcome.

Instead, after conducting the training sessions as mentioned above, companies can measure the change in the number of lawsuits, if any. They can also conduct surveys to understand whether the time spent by employees responding to e-mails have reduced, whether the sentiment around e-mail communication is positive and so on.