All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would unnecessary

The statement provided to us for analysis is 'All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary'. The topic for discussion here is whether companies should hire consultants or should pay more attention to what their employees have to say so that the company can operate more efficiently.

Within any company there are multiple verticals running simultaneously such as Finance, Operations, Human Resources etc. Typically consultants are hired to assit with the operations of one of these verticals. The areas of assistance could include improving profits, devising new strategies for expansion, improving the culture of the organization, improving the supply chain functions and so on. Consultants have specific areas of expertise, having worked with multiple organizations, to help solve similar set of problems. The rich knowledge and experience that these consultants bring to the table can help companies immensely.

The author's opinion is based on an assumption that once companies do not pay heed to what their employees have to say once external consultants are hired. This need not be the case. The best way of operation is to make sure that the hired consultants and the company employees work in tandem. The consultants begin with speaking to the employees, understanding the problem areas and the possible reasons for the problems. They then devise strategies and solutions taking into consideration the issues at hand and their knowledge of how competitor firms are handling such issues. These strategies are time and again discussed with the employees, as eventually it is these employees who would help implement these strategies effectively.

It should be the responsiblity of the leadership or the business heads to ensure that there is a proper system and process in place when hiring consultants that ensures that the consultants and employees have an ongoing collaboration, all necessary resources are made available to the consultants be it data, support, time etc. and that the employees are always kept in loop of how the problem statement provided to the consultants is being solved.