Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The problem statement provided here is based on the change of the school catering services to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition'. The prediction by the parent who has written the letter to the principal states that if Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students. This prediction is based on the argument that the low-fat, low-calories meals being served by Swift is not being liked by the students. Hence, most students will insist on bringing their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating at the cafeteria.

There are a few pointers that need to be considered while deciding whether Swift should be retained as the catering vendor or should be replaced by another vendor:

First, Swift serves low-fat, low calorie meals that are claimed to be healthy yet not tasty. Most students, given their young age should be provided proper nutritious food for growth and development. Should the focus of Swift Nutrition company be low-fat, low-calorie meals vs nutritious meals which have balanced proportions of carbs, fat, fibre, proteins and vitamins.

Second, healthy foods can also be tasty. It would be incorrect to assume that healthy food is bland and cannot be enjoyed by the students.The management can confirm with the vendors if they have meal options that are healthy and yet will also appeal to the taste buds of the students.

Third, it takes time for any individual to get accustomed to change. As the new vendors have just been brought in, it is important to consider how long has it been since students have been subject to this change. Maybe after a few weeks, the students would get used to the taste of these meals and start enjoying them.

Fourth, when students head home complaining to their parents that they do not like the cafeteria food and hence would like to carry their own lunches, is it necessary that the lunch they bring from home would be less healthy. As parents know their kids taste much better than what the school does, they can make sure they send in tasty yet healthy lunch for their kids. This means that the students would not be subject to serious health consequences/

Fifth, in case the school considers replacing Swift Nutrition by another vendor, it is important to understand what meals options are being offered by the competitor vendors. If the students do not approve of any new vendor that is brought in then the school cafeteria would be left in a pickle.

By addressing the above questions or points it would be easy to evaluate of the prediction and the argument on which it is based are resonable.