Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given memo, the advertising director of the company plans to allocate a greater share of its budget to advertising in the coming year to aware people about their movies. The director arrives at the stated plan relying on the increased percentage of positive reviews received by the company's movies even though there was a decrease in the people who attended the Super Screen-produced movies. The recommendation of the director might turn out to be lucrative; however, it hinges on unfounded assumptions, if not substantiated, will undermine the persuasiveness of the argument. Therefore, more questions need to be answered so as to evaluate the presented recommendation.

Firstly, even though the presented fact that there was increase in the positive reviews percentage cannot be disputed, it must be accepted as true, it is questionable whether the positive reviews represented the general response of the viewers. For example, people giving reviews might have been provided with free food and might have been indirectly encouraged for the positive reviews. So, did the mere increase in positive reviews imply that there was no problem in the quality of their movies? The director leaps towards not considering his or her quality of movies just because of the reviews.Therefore, it is necessary to provide peices of evidence which show that the recorded percentage of positive reviews represented the general opinion of the viewers and assured good quality of the movies.

Secondly, there are no pieces of evidence which support the statement that the public lacked knowledge about their movies. Are the public already well-informed about the positive reviews and the presence of their movies? For example, it is possible that the company had publicized just so much that the viewers were vexed and wanted to avoid the movies of the company. In such scenario, how can it be justified that increasing the budget for advertising will be beneficial?

Lastly, the director considers the lack of awareness of the public to be the main reason for the decrease number of people attending the movies. Are there movies of any other companies that people might be attracted towards? Or are the public opting for other forms of entertaintment? For instance, people might be prefering to watch series different from movies. In such scenario, even with the allocation of greater share of budget the company will no be able to bring back it's viewers. Therefore, such different probable factors that might be a prime cause of the presented problem should be analysed because leaping directly towards the advertising factor.

In conclusion, the argument must answers numerous questions like whether the positive reviews of the viewers were reliable and representative, whether adverstiment was already adequate or not, whether the lack of advertisement was the main cause for the decrease in the number of people. Therefore, more extensive and multifaceted researches must be carried out before considering that lack of awareness about the movie was the prime reason for the problem.