Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

Opinions may vary from one person to another. One of the biggest challenge for a leader is handle such opinions which might be different from his or her principles.The given prompt presents that a leader who is quickly and easily influenced by public opinion will not be able to achieve much. I mostly agree with the statement because rather than focusing on the ever-shifting public opinion, the leader should dedicate himself or herself to achieve a long-term goal. With firmness and determination he or she will be able to surmount manifold challenges as a leader.

Firstly, history is replete with examples showing firmness as one of the traits for an effective leadership. For example, Mahatma Gandhi, who promulgated the importance of independence, fought against the didactic British ruling in a peaceful way. During such era where roits and munities were only believed to be effective, he initially was mocked by many for such movement. Nevertheless, his persistence molded the opinion of the people and he ultimately succeed to free India . Leaders like Abraham Linclon was firm with his aim to abolish slavery even though he was derided for his attempt by majority. He was even able to inform the people of North America, who were not aware about negative aspects of slavery. Such examples show that leaders not only fulfil the needs and demands of the public but can even alter the general opinion as per the circumstances. Had such great leaders like Mahatma Gandhi, Abraham Linclon ceded to the public opinion, they would not have been able to bring revolutionary changes. Therefore, a leader should have the perseverence to strive for his or her long term goals. Even if their principles and aims don't align with the general opinion, they should not cease; instead they should also have the capability to persuade the public opinion and move ahead with a common goal.

Secondly, any leader who is easily influenced by ever-changing public opinion might be conceived as a fickle leader. A steadfast leader will be able to gain trust from the public and even if the public opinion might be different, they will be willing to cooperate with the leader. Nelson Mandela, the former president of South Africa, gained people's trust after he used sports as a tool to unite black and white people of his country. Even though people were initially wary about his approach, on the day of victory they celebrated Nelson Mandela. The way a leader handles the situations in which he will be facing different public opinions will also depict the leader's tolerance level. A leader striving for his or her long-term goal should try to persuade the people but that should not be his or her main concern. The accomplishment by steadfast leader will eventually morph public opinon.

Lastly, most of the countries today have democracy. With democracy, there comes a responsiblity to acknowledge general people's opinion. Every human being have the freedom to express, but this very freedom might also bring imbalance in the society. Every ruling party or a leader will have opponents who will be awaiting for the opportunity to stir up the people against the leader. Popular opinions might be shaped by the influence of the media or such adversaries. Therefore, it is not necessary for every popular opinon to be a significant one marching towards the properity. In such scenario, the leader must be able to immutable and not be driven by public opinion.

In conclusion, firmness will help a leader to achieve his goal. Consequently, he will gain trust and support from the public, whereas a fickle leader will be swinging like a pendulum with ever-changing opinion of the people.