A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given argument, relying on the tests carried out on the recalled food, the company of pet food avers that the recalled food was not responsible for the symptoms presented in the complaint. The company arrives at the presented assertion based only on the chemical test of the recalled food. Even though the assertion might be true, it hinges on unfounded assumptions, if not substantiated will undermine the persuasiveness of the argument. Therefore, the assumptions of the argument have to be evaluated.

Firstly, the company determined only the chemicals in the food considering that chemical to be the only reason possible to bring such symptoms of vomiting, lethargy, and illness experienced by the pets. It does not take into account any other parameters of the food that could cause such ailment. For instance, the food might be processed long time ago and might be the cause for such response by the pets. They might have to investigate their manufacture date and the food lasting time period. Even if they claim the food to last up to 12 months, the illness experienced by the pets might be because of 10 months old food. Such investigation could in fact help the company to correct their over estimation. In such scenario, where other parameters of the food might lead to sickness in pet, it will not be justified for the company to claim that they are not responsible only by carrying out chemical tests.

Secondly, the company has only investigated the type of chemicals in the food, no information have been given regarding the permissible amount of the chemicals. For example, 1 gram of the included chemicals might be approved for use, but there might be presence of 2 grams of chemicals per packet. As it has no information that the approved chemical was in temperance, it can not be asserted that the chemical had no role in the sickness of the pets. Therefore, the assumption that any quantity of approved chemical is permissible is unwarranted.

Lastly, the company assumes that their food will forever have no detrimental effects on the pets consuming. It is adamant in its assertion that it is not possible for the food to harm the health of the pets -- even in the future. But due to changes in the routine of the pets or the environment, the pet food might need some modifications and for that investigation must be carried out. With changing circumstances in the future,if the company continues to prove the same quality without further testing, there might be adverse repercussions in pet's health. Therefore, the assumption that their food will eternally cause to harm to the pets is not valid or supported with any evidences.

To sum up, as the argument lies on questionable assumptions, the claim of the company of pet food is contentious. It is desideratum for the company to also carry out multifaceted research and tests before claiming.