"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The current young people will the future's leader. Therefore, it is necessary to prepare them for the leadership from their young age. The given prompt suggests that instilling the sense of cooperation in young people's for leadership is the best way to prepare them for leadership. I strongly concur with the given prompt because of the following reasons.

Firstly, history is replete with examples where leaders with the ability to cooperate with people with disparate views have been able to create landmarks. For example, Nelson Mandela being the first black president of South America did not compete with his white rivals; in fact, he was able to unite the black and white people by cooperating with both of them. He was a medium to ravage the wall of prejudice. In this way, the proclivity of a leader to cooperate not only builds up an ambivalent working environment it also prevents the unwanted antipathy that competition may bring.Young people being the future of the world should be directed towards such path where they learn to cooperate rather than to compete. Society should instill the quality of cooperation in the young people so that in future they will be able to be a cooperative leader. Cooperative person will be able to avoid unnecessary disputes by handling and addressing disparate opinions and thereby will be an effective leader.

Secondly, one who has the ability to cooperate will be wiling to listen to other people's opinions and such tendency might help to bring more ideas and ultimately, better outcomes. For example, in an industry, a leader who tends to cooperate with the local will be aware of the environmental problems that his or her industry may lead to. In this way, he will be alert beforehand and will be perform better. Also, rather than competiting with the similar industries if the leader tends to cooperate he or she might be come to know about the different problem that the other industries had to face in future. A cooperative person will be able to gain wide insight in any field. Therefore, also for a leader tendency to cooperate is very necessary.

Admittedly, in order to gain leadership, there might be conditions where competition will be inevitable. In such scenario as well, a cooperative person will be able to stand out because he or she will be willing be listening to the rivals' opinions and will be learning from different aspects. A child who is grown only with a focus to compete might not develop such level of listening ability. Therefore, by instilling the sense of cooperation, the child will itself be competent and may become a leader in his or her field. Moreover, will also perform better as a leader.

Therefore, in order to develop the ability to understand other's opinion and learn from them it is necessary to instill sense of cooperation in the young people to make them a better leader in the future.