Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

The intended purpose of education is not only to open up a career for an individual, it's role is also to develop him or her as a person with moral values who will work for the welfare of the society in different forms. The given prompt presents two disparate approaches with an aim to produce a moral society: one, that supports teaching morality as foundation of education, and second, that supports teaching logical reasoning. I mostly agree that moral education is the cornerstone in building a moral society.

Firstly, logical reasoning teaches solution of a problem in a systematic way based on evidences and facts. But in real intricate life, we encounter different circumstances where such logic do not make any sense. For example, if a train ticket checker sees a poor man who can not even afford a train ticket but has to travel to visit his sick parents, then his morals will take over instead of logic. As a kind person, he will understand the circumstances and might allow the person to travel. If logical reasoning leads to moral society, then why engineers, whose work is based on logical reasoning, are caught in corruption while working ? Acknowledging the fact that ability of logical reasoning does not guarantee morality, even in engineering courses subjects like work ethics and moral values are included.

Secondly, the teaching of moral education could inspire students to aspire to devote their life as a social worker or activist. As we get acquainted with moral education ever since our childhood, we comprehend that anything we do will directly or indirectly affect people in the society. So, we tend to be an exemplary person that can give back to the society be it be in the form of doctors, engineers or accountant of a bank. Therefore, in order to aspire students to develop the qualities of empathy, kindness and love for any creature on Earth morality should be the foundation of education.

Lastly, morality also helps us to identify injustice and galvanizes you to speak against it. A veteran programmer might be able to code proficiently, but he might not be realizing how his or her might be abusing while working. Education does not guarantee the awareness about the morality among the students, but that is it's intended purpose. Therefore, it is often found social activist, politician who have studied moral education in their course standing ahead promptly against injustice.

In conclusion, logical reasoning ability could give us good earning, but morality teaches us the way of living by encouraging us to be kind, speak against injustice.