Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position

In every graduation ceremony, there is one or the other speech which try to convey the message that "the real journey begins now". After number of late night studies and passing numerous tough exams, life after graduation is still not easy and we realize that the work field teaches us so many more things. The given prompt presents a policy that the faculty of colleges and universities should work outside their academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach. I observe such policy as an opportunity for the faculty to learn from their work field, and consequently, the lessons they learnt will be delivered also to the students they have been teaching. It is salubrious for both the students and the faculty members.

Firstly, work field can teach one many more things than just teaching inside the classroom. The faculty member will be exposed to the current technologies, different work environment and pragmatic methodologies. For example, a law teacher might be able to understand more about recent ammendments when he or she will get to work as a lawyer in the court. When he or she will be able to apply the law that he or she had been teaching, his or her level of understanding will be increased. The more the teacher comprehends the more efficiently he or she will be able to deliver. Similarly, in the field of science, doctors, engineers and professions of that ilk learn more from working in their respective field rather than from mere theoritical knowledge. Therefore, as the teacher will get an exposure to different perspectives while working, he or she will also be to deliver to the students.

Secondly, such policy might also bring significant changes in the style of teaching. When one works only in the field of academic, he or she will not be able to determine whether their method of teaching is beneficial for the students or not. As the faculty members work themselves, they might realize the gulf between the materials taught and the real application of the education in work field. Thus, the experience from working in their respective professions might help them to bridge the gap between the things taught in the universities and knowledge required for being a competent worker.

Lastly, such policy will obviously help the faculty members to be financially stable and will prevent the monotonous life as a teacher. The desire of a professor to contribute to their professional field and the academic field will go hand in hand. Some may argue that working in both the fields might hamper the schedule and efficiency of the professor, but when there already is a policy mandating the professor to work then the schedule will also be managed aptly. In fact, it will aid the professor in maintaining efficiency in both the fields.

Be it be professors of science or literature, every academicans require experience in their respective field so that they themselves can grow and learn as per the modern scenarios and also prepare the students accordingly.