Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to work as a team than as an individual to succeed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people prefer to work as a team for their convenience or for different other reasons. However, I do not concur with the stance that team work is better than to work individually in order to succeed for the following three reasons.

First of all, when one works as a team, time management becomes a huge problem. For group discussion or for allocating the tasks, the team members will have to meet time and again. But as people will have different priorities in their lives, it will be a tough task to set a time or a day aside when everyone would be willing to come together. I remember running after each team members to fix a suitable time for practice when I participated in a dance competition as a group. It wasted my time which I could have dedicated to groom my dance steps. Even though there might have been different other factors, I feel like we did not win the competition because of lack of practice due to the time management problem. Had I participated alone and utilized my time to practice, I could have won. I have observed such similar scenarios also in other teams. Such unnecessary burden could deviate one's attention and act as an impediment to success.

Secondly, working as a team will require proper allocation of the task among the team members. This task is itself a very troublesome; additionally, it will also hinder one from learning every aspect of the work. For example, in a car company, if one builds the car by himself or herself, then she or he will have complete knowledge about development of that car. On the contrary, if the same task is divided among two, both will not be able to gain complete experience. Suppose one makes the engine and other works on the tires, then the person working on the engine will be unaware about the tires and similar would be the case for the other person. In case the car does not work, there are chances of blame game. Therefore, such complications like arguments during division of task, decrease in accountability and many more will disturb the team from succeeding. Thus, it is better to work individually where one will take the complete responsibility and solve problems on their own. Such scenario would be conducive to success than the former one.

Lastly, because of the fear of one member getting credited for success, the work environment might be malignant while working as a team. I have a bitter experience when I was given the opportunity to present a presentation on the behalf of the team in an international competition. But one of my team members was so jealous that he deleted my file and unfortunately, we as a team lost the opportunity to win. However, if I had prepared the presentation individually, there would not be such insecurity and unnecessary rivalry. Hence, such fear and jealousy could hinder success while working as a team.

All in all, because of the reasons stated above, I contend that it is better to work as an individual in order to succeed rather than as a team.