Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

As mentioned by the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, during the past year, even though movies do have great content, the viewership of movies has been decreasing. The director has come to this conclusion based on the fact that they have been receiving a greater percentage of positive reviews from movie reviewers and thus maintains that it is necessary to make the public aware of the content of the movies. However, the argument rests on unwarranted assumptions and needs to be evaluated further based on the following two questions:

Firstly, how credible are those movie reviewers? And what is their basis for rating the movies? In other words, are those movie reviewers experienced enough so as to consider their ratings the only basis for deciding the content of the movies? It might be possible that some of the movie reviewers have just started their careers in the industry and thus have little or no experience in judging a movie and its content. Therefore, their ratings won't match with what people generally like to see on the screens. And hence, that might be the reason behind the lower viewership for the movies. If the above scenario holds merit, then promoting the movies just on the basis of the movie reviewers might have no benefit. If the director of the company does thorough research into the types and credibility of the movie reviewers, then it will be possible to comment on the content of the movies.

Secondly, even if we assume that the movie reviews are to the point and have no two views, then the question that then arises is what are the exact numbers? How is the increase in the percentage of positive reviews calculated? It is possible that the number of movies released in previous years was lower than the number of movies released in the last year. Suppose there were 50 movies released the previous year and the positive reviews they got were for around 30 of them. But last year, let's say there were 75 movies released, and the positive reviews were 35. Thus, the number of movies with poor content was higher as compared to last year, and hence the stated argument holds no viability. Unless the director is able to put forward the exact data, it will not be possible to compare it to the previous year's data. Only exact statistics can help the director to know whether it is the poor content of the films that is pushing the audience away or the unawareness of the good ones.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is based on unwarranted assumptions. If the director is able to give the answers to the above questions, only then will it be possible to evaluate the viability of the argument.