The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum at Humana University, it is stated by the President that it is required to initiate and actively promote online degree in the university in order to increase the students enrollment and alleviate the costs of maintaining buildings. The President has come to this conclusion based on the significant changes seen by the Omni University in terms of expenditure because of online enrolment. However, before this recommendation is properly evaluated, following assumptions need to be proved.

First of all, the President assumes that Human University and Omni University are roughly comparable. It is possible that both the Universities are not similar at all. For an instance, courses in the Omni University might have the flexibility to shift to an online course. In other words, these courses might have no practical studies requirement and hence it was possible for the university to adopt online classes. Whereas, if the majority of the courses at Humana university require practical studies, then initiating online classes will have no benefits at all. Therefore, if the above scenario has merit, then conclusion drawn in the argument is weakened and requires more evidence.

Secondly, the President assumes that increase in online enrolment will deficit the maintenance costs. There is no proper evidence mentioned for the prior and last years’ exact data for the maintenance of buildings in the Omni university. It might be possible that the Omni University had very high maintenance costs in the prior years and in the last year it was decreased to a moderate one. It might also be possible that the prior year’s maintenance would have made the building significantly better that it didn’t require much of the maintenance in the last year. And hence based on the data mentioned in the memorandum about Omni university, initiating online enrolment at Humana to cut down the maintenance costs will have zero impact.

Lastly, even if we assume that the increase in online enrolment will decrease the maintenance costs. It is possible that it may increase other costs at university, since online classes need proper online connectivity and servers, they might have to employ some engineers to monitor and ensure the seamless connectivity. In addition, also might need to prepare teachers for the online classes. If this is the case, then online enrolment might lower the building maintenance costs but can give rise to other maintenance costs.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on the unwarranted assumptions. If the President is able to provide more evidence to the above stated assumptions -perhaps through a detailed survey- it will then only be possible to evaluate the viability of the argument.