An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

It has been predicted by an International Development Organization that the people in Tagus will readily adopt the new variety of millet, which has recently been engineered by the organization. They have come to this conclusion based on the fact that the new variety of millet is high in Vitamin A, and the people of Tagus are deficient in Vitamin A. The international development organization has also predicted that since the millet is already a staple food of the people in Tagus, the people there will easily adopt the new one. However, before persuading the people in Tagus to consume and include the new variety of millet in their diet, three questions must be answered.

First of all, will the land in Tagus be suitable for the new variety of millet? It is possible that the weather conditions and fertility of the land required for the growth of new variety of millet can be different from the existing land conditions. For example, the new variety of the millet requires a good amount of moisture in the soil but it is possible that the farmlands in Tagus are more prone to droughts. If the above stated example holds true, then cultivation of the new variety of millet will not be possible in Tagus, provided already the higher costs of the new millet seeds and therefore a thorough study of the cultivation and land fertility is required to have the predicted result.

Secondly, even if the farmers will be able to cultivate the new millet, the question is what will be the selling price of the new variety. Since, the nation is impoverished, then even though after cultivating the new variety, if the selling price of the new variety goes high, then it is most unlikely that the people in Tagus will be able to afford the new millet. And therefore, only after carrying a detailed study of the estimation of the prices of the new millet, it will be possible to promote the usage of the new variety of millet.

Lastly, what is the efficacy of this new type of millet? And whether the people in Tagus are only deprived of Vitamin A or there might be any other deficiencies as well? It is also possible that the new millet might have some side-effects, or maybe the taste of the millet won’t be as good as the taste of the staple millet. This might again cause the hindrance in promoting the new millet to the people. If the people in Tagus not only have Vitamin A deficiency but also lack some other deficiencies. Then adding a new and high-cost crop will not be as efficient as it is being predicted. So, only after a thorough study of the requirements and answer to the above questions, will then the organization be able to promote the new type of millet.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on the unwarranted assumptions. If the organization is able to answer the above three questions, offer more evidence and detailed study of the people of Tagus (as to why the people are deficient in Vitamin A and if it is the only vitamin deficiency) and at the same time a thorough study of the new variety of millet and whether the millet will be suitable for the people in Tagus, it will then only be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to promote the new variety of millet in Tagus.