People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

The dilemma of whether to choose mind over heart or vice-a-versa is not uncommon. Whilst the rational ones are mocked for being callous, the emotional ones are derided for being too sensitive. However, I mostly agree with the prompt that the people who tend to make decisions based on their emotions make poor decision for the below discussed reasons.

Its easy to be wise after the event. Which means it is always easier to judge a situation after it has occurred. So why not be more prudent when the time is right? Prudent here basically means being rational. Taking a decision based on your emotion may content you temporarily but in the long term this decision can take a shape of regret. For an instance, it is always advisable to invest today for a better future, not only for yourself but also for your generations to come. But people generally neglect this, they think on the emotional side and tend to save their money for ‘now’, nobody likes to take a risk in this dynamic world. Practical people on the other side, listen to their rational minds and make a wise decision of investing now for a better future. And certainly, in a long term they do are secured.

While this is certainly valid at an individual level, being logical also helps at a broader level such as in businesses, while running a country etc. Today, in the world of innovation where start-ups are competing the already established MNCs and are leading the world in various aspects. This was possible only because of the leaders behind those great start-ups who took the right decisions based on their logic which was then required. Similar is the case with a President/ Prime minister running a country. For an instance, when a reform is made- there will always be a certain number of people protesting it, but neither its feasible nor wise to amend it. Provided the decision is logical and data-driven which will eventually help people in long term.

However, one might argue that its good to be more human than rational. This might hold true for some extent when it comes to your family, friends, and personal relationships. But the history speaks that in the long run it is always the logic that leads to life-changing decisions.