Argumentative - "Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author assumes that restoring the time devoted to weather and localc news to its former level attract more viewers . The idea is based on the complaints received by its viewers making the channel revise its decision to increase the time to show the national news . However the author has overlooked a few vital points for its logical convincing .

Firstly the idea that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level is illogical . The prompt doesnt state for what issue are the complaints registered. There is a possibilty that the local viewers are disappointed with the channels weather forecast prediction . The weather forecasted by the news channel has frequently been incorrect making the citizen suffer , for example the channel had predicted a sunny day but it turned out to be a rainy one making its viewers disappointed.

Secondly, the channel asssumes that the local businesses would renew their contracts if the channels changes its new policies .There is no mention in the above prompt taht the businesses have received a substanial amount of profits from the advertisements . It fails to take into consideration that the businesses are not generating the revenue expected from their advertising and spending big amounts is just proving to be futile . Thus to cut down their costs and avoid losses, busisnesses are canceling their contracts.

Apart from this there is no gurantee that the restoring the time to devoted to weather and local news channel would increase its viewership . The author doesnt factor in that the loss in viewership might be the result of a new reporter delivering the news or the new system that showed the news might not be as apealing to the viewer as the previous anchor who completely amazed the viewers.

Thus due to these overstated flaws the argument seems to be ill-founded . However the argument would have been strengthened if the author would have solved the above stated queries . Thus the prediction that restoring the time given to weather and local news to its former level falls flat .