IN AN ATTEMPT TO IMPROVE HIGHWAY SAFETY PRUNTY COUNTRY LAST YEAR LOWERED ITS SPEED LIMITS FROM 55 TO 45 MILES PER HOUR ON ALL COUNTRY HIGHWAYS. BUT THIS EFFORT HAS FAILED; THE NUMBER OF ACCIDENTS HAS NOT DECREASED, AND, BASED ON REPORT BY HIGHWAY PETROL, MANY DRIVERS ARE EXCEEDING THE SPEED LIMIT. PRUNTY COUNTRY SHOULD INSTEAD undertake THE SAME KIND OF ROAD IMPROVEMENT PROJECT THAT BUTLER COUNTRY COMPLETED FIVE YEARS AGO; INCREASING LANE WIDTHS, RESURFACING ROUGH HIGHWAYS AND IMPROVING VISIBILITY AT DANGEROUS INTERSECTION. TODAY, MAJOR BUTLER COUNTRY ROADS STILL HAVE A 55 MPH SPEED LIMIT, YET THERE WERE 25 PERCENT FEWER REPORTED ACCIDENTS IN BUTLER COUNTRY THIS PAST YEAR THAT THERE WERE FIVE YEARS AGO.

In the given argument, the author is talking about the increase in road accidents in Prunty country. The author’s conclusion goes beyond the evidence like the conclusion is based without any statistical data of both countries.

The reasoning in this argument is flawed in several respects like, in first glens, the author is talking about to improve highway safety, Prunty country last year lowered its speed limits from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all country highway. And, based on the report by the highway patrol many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Firstly, the author is only focusing on the speed limit of the vehicles. Maybe there is some different reason like traffic congestion is more in that area is more. Also, that is the possibility of not proper management of traffic control. Moreover, the decrease in speed limit 55 to 45 miles per hour on all countries is not given the result of that particular area where most frequent accidents are reported.

The author suggests that the Prunty count should take the kind of road improvement project that butler country completed five years ago; increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways and improving visibility at a dangerous intersection. Since here the author is not provided the statistical data of the butler country about the accidents reported. Also, the author is not explained in about the road improvement project how does result road accident decrement. Maybe this is possible in butler country already the road accident ratio is low. For that reason, the comparison between the two countries is not sustainable. Also, what butler country applies will not give the same result for the Prunty country, maybe the reason is different for increasing road accidents in Prunty country that butler country.

In the final point of the author, he said that butler country road still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer recorded accidents in butler country. Again, the author assume that because of the road improvement project there is a decrease in a road accident, also assume that the speed limit is the cause of the road accident. But there author not provide any data about the butler county’s past year that there were five years ago. Also possible that the population of the butler country is less than the Prunty country, and because of that there is less traffic congestion. Therefore, the road accident ratio is less than Prunty country

In conclusion, this argument is weak because it depends on assumptions about, the reasons for accidents are only the speed limit. And the assumption like the road development project of butler country decrease road accident will work the same for reducing the road accident ratio of Prunty country, make the argument defective and vague.