In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

The argument places a great emphasis on speed limits, however this is not the singlemost factor that affects traffic accidents. While the argument presents reasonable and potentially even helpful changes to improve highway safety, there are still many areas that are left to be addressed and require greater examination.

First off, the argument makes the failed assumption that changes made by Butler County can be easily translated to the same results if those same changes were made in Prunty County. There are many aspects of both towns that we do not know which can heavily influence the necessary courses of action that need to be taken. For one, drivers in Butler County may be inherently safer drivers than those in Prunty County. Even then, we also do not know how Prunty County compares in the percentage of accidents that occur on its roads compared to Butler County’s roads. The argument claims that yes, Butler County did experience a reduction in accidents in the past year, but are Butler County roads still safe? Secondly, how do we know that the changes Butler County made were the sole contributors to its recent reduction in accidents? The changes were made five years ago, yet the argument makes no comment on its effect on accidents the following four years.

In addition, the argument fails to address the differences in the types of roads that driver use most frequently in Prunty County and Butler County. Prunty County may only have one highway to access its most populated area, yet Butler County may have numerous routes going into its major towns. Perhaps the issue here is the availability of road options as opposed to the aforementioned speed limit.

There are many questions left to be answered for Prunty County to improve its highway safety. It has still yet to examine the density of traffic on its roads, whether the number of lanes on its roads is sufficient, or if its highway on-ramps and off-ramps are appropriately safe. These are just a few aspects of its highway safety that need further attention.

Prunty County must get to the root of its highway safety problems and address those aspects first before jumping to conclusions and implementing another unrelated county’s measures.