The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

The town council of Balmer Island is aiming to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds, a popular form of transportation, and pedestrians by limiting the number of moped rentals from 50 per day to 25 per day. There are, however, many assumptions and unanswered questions that interfere with the validity of this plan.

Firstly, let us examine the population increase during the summer months on Balmer Island, which is said to reach a total of 100,000. The question here is how much has the population increased by the time it reaches 100,000? Perhaps the population on Balmer Island before summer is 99,000, and thus the 1,000 increase in its population presents as a marginal factor.

Secondly, how many accidents are occurring on Balmer Island? If there are 20 accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians per year, will the reduction in rentals per day really affect how many accidents occur that year? Perhaps the issue is not the moped riders but is in fact the pedestrians who do not obey traffic laws, thus putting themselves in dangerous situations. The reduction in daily rentals does not address the attitudes and actions of the island’s pedestrians.

Finally, the report compares Balmer Island’s situation to Seaville’s situation the year before. This comparison cannot be made because the two islands can be completely different in terms of their population densities, infrastructures, and traffic laws. The report also states that Seaville was able to accomplish a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents, but how many accidents that is is yet to be answered. If Seaville reduced the annual number of moped accidents from two to one, it can hardly be said that they had an issue to begin with. To say that the changes made by Seaville will result in similar returns on Balmer Island is unwarranted.

To better evaluate the recommendation made in the Balmer Island Gazette, the town should examine the underlying causes of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians and consider changes and solutions from there. Are moped riders speeding too much? Is the moped license requirement too easy? Are pedestrians not properly crossing roads or obeying other traffic laws? Answers to these questions among many others can help Balmer Island see the reduction in accidents it so desires.