Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

If you think of any country in the world, you are bound to think of its biggest, most major cities along with it. These cities often represent their nation’s most underlying values in one way or another, and are always at the forefront to do so, serving as tourist hotspots and hosts to political convention. For these reasons, it is important that governments support their major cities and ensure that they thrive.

What makes New York, New York such an iconic city? A few things that come to mind are Wall Street, Times Square, and the New York Yankees. With just a few names, I have covered many aspects of what makes the United States what it is today. Wall Street represents the desire and importance the country places on money. The United States is no doubt a money-driven culture, and our next stop, Times Square, illustrates just that. There you can find all things your consumerist-heart desires, from McDonald’s to Abercrombie & Fitch. Lastly are the New York Yankees, America’s most storied sports franchise. The Yankees are such a symbol of America that people in different countries sport the “NY” hat while having no affiliation with either the team or the sport. It has become a fashion symbol, and a symbol of America.

Major cities are also where international relations get done, and it is important again to preserve the nation’s culture and traditions within their city limits. These cities provide the backdrop for standing up for what the nation believes in, and it must become evident in these major cities, where the nation’s traditions are preserved.

Of course, the financial support these cities receive must be within reason. The government cannot neglect the people who make the country what it is. The surrounding suburbs home the nation itself, its people. The people who build cities, businesses, and generate the nation’s very cultural traditions it should preserve. Governments should no doubt support major cities and ensure they thrive, but it must do so while still keep its smaller cities up and running as well.

All in all, it is the major cities of countries where such rich cultural traditions are manifested and should be preserved. Governments should ensure that these cities succeed, while paying close attention to its smaller cities as well. The nation’s people will thrive, and so too its culture and traditions.