In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago

The author of the argument claims that in a attempt of improve highway safety, Prunty decreased its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour in all highways, but this effort failed, then Prounty county had undertaken some road improvement projects like increasing lane widths, improving visibility etc. Now, the Butler County experienced 25 % less reported accidents in last years compared to five year ago.

The author's claim that number of reported accidents has decreased because of the road improvement projects fraught with erroneous logic and conclusion.

First of all, when after decreasing speed limit from 55 to 45, the author says that number of accidents has not decreased. What is source of this data that number of accidents not decreased. I could be possible that number of accidents had decreased but it was not calculated properly. According to author, based of reports of highway petrol pump, drivers were exceeding the speed limit, but there no concrete data is provided regarding speed range. It could be possible that, drivers were increasing there speeds till 100 and even beyond 100 and still there is no increased in the number of accidents.

Secondly, roads improvements project have been performed, but after road improvements, there were 25 % less reported accidents in the past year compare to five year ago. What is the reasoning of comparing a data of past year with five year ago data. It might be possible that, five year ago, there were more number of vehicles, so there were more number of reported accients, but in the past year, there were less number of vehicles hence there are less number of accidents happen. If this would be the case, then saying that the road imporvements had decreased accidents numbers would be errneous and unlogical.

In summary, the argument of author's falls short in many aspects. The author did start the argument with a sound premise but he later failed to support his position but appropriate logic and reasoning. If author had included more evidence regarding the number of data, the actual number of data, and had compared the accidents' data to successive past 5-10 years data, then author's thought process in progressing from premise to the stated conclusion would not have been so abrupt and jarring. Futher the inclusion of other factors like number of total vehicle in roads, more authencity of accident data helped author to drive his position in a more appropriate manner. But, in the absense of this, the argument is flawed.