Knowledge is an important part of our life. Some people prefer having deep knowledge about one particular subject, while others prefer having widespread knowledge about a variety of subjects. Which do you prefer and why?

The topic presented the controversial issue of importance between in-depth knowledge of a field and superficial knowledge of several fields. Knowledge is paramount to survival of human beings on Earth. Some consider this as a form of education that people receive at Schools and Universities while others invision it as knowledge beyond professional circle. Additionally, some people give preference to deep insights of one particular subject while some prefer to have widespread insights of several subjects. I generally agree with the several field knowledge over single field knowledge. I present several reasons for my view in the following paragraphs.

First of all, multifaceted education or knowledge make a person all rounder active. I would like to point out that the more subjects you know, the less trouble you would get in career. To illustrate, let us look at the example of jobs in market. People who knows to accomodate themselves according to situations, people who possess several skills such as communication, technical, bargaining and marketing and people who easily locate themselves according to company demand are always preferred in each and every companies. In this circumstance, obviously companies has several tasks that they wanted to get done from their employees. In the same time, companies also want to cut the cost of their operations and management. Therefore, they always want to hire a person who can work in operation, technology and management in the same time.

Secondly, human like to have understanding of several subjects at a time. It helps him or her in case of poor situation like economic crisis, firing, and any unforeseen events. Specifically, students who possess several talents and skills get jobs even in very poor economic situation of company. Last year, when COVID-19 attacked in India, there were several of my friends lost their job. There were mechanical engineers, civil engineers, management professionals and other profession related persons. In that situation, student who change themselves according to the condition and who already had some knowledge of several other subjects got job easily in the market.

Admittedly, being expert in any field is very challenging but the same way it is so much respected and rewarded. A doctorate in petroleum energy sector would always get more remunration than a petroleum engineer who only did undergraduation. This is specially true in case of jobs that require special education, and expert knowledge of the field. However, in the market, more than 80 percentage jobs are available in those sectors that do not require experts. These market require all rounder workforce.

In conclusion, although connoisures of a field whether it is engineering or medical are rewarded more than a rookie, but the space available for all rounder or several skills possessing person are more and readily available.