Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The given opinion is presenting the controversial issue of whether the laws and regulations can change all problems present in the modern society. In a modern society, there are several problems, some could be solved through rules and regulations of government some can not. Indisputably, government rules are pretty effective in dealing with the sever issues like traffic rules, thefts, Murder etc. Nevertheless there are some problems which can not change through these rules. Rules are laws are generally have tangible effects like if you break the traffic rules you will be fined or if you murder someone then you would be punished and sent to jail. In this way, rule can not constrained the behaviour of human mind, they can not circumscribe your thoughts whether your thoughts are good or bad, they can preclude your actions if they are falling under govt's jurisdiction.

firsly, if we talk about the use of modern technology like mobile, computer etc. In the modern city the main problem among kids and youths even in mature one is that they are investing so much time in their mobile phones, chatting apps, video games, movies. These are ofcourse not severe society problems, but if we than from the broad prospective then we would realise that in which direction our modern society is heading. Instead playing outside physical game like football, cricket, etc., kids are more inclining towards online video games. I do not think these games are improving their intellectual skills but certainly, these games are not imroving their physical growth and behavioral growth. No rules present can inhibit these youth and kids from playing these online games.

Secondly, the issue of combine family and behaviour issue among family members. In old days, parents used to live with their children, their grand children but in now days they have to live separate from their children in the old age house. Rules and regulation can not change the mind and behaviour of these children and can teach them the moral values of combine family. People are running for money, leisure life and physical pleasures and forgetting their ethical and moral values. They are not respecting their parents, their teachers, even their soul mates. No law could ever be effective to teach them these issues.

There are other problems of religious transformation. There are some organization spread in all over world who are pursuading poor people, credulous people and persuading them to change their religion. Although, religion practics are fundamental right but to follow a particular religion in the effluence of others is not justified.

Admittedly, through some ethical rules, moral rules, society behavior for these issues could be changed. As if a country mendate among their citizens than no parents would live along apart from childern and childern have to provide home and money to their parents then, the old age orphanage problem could be mitiage at some extent. Similary, if a counrty necessiate that children below certain age could not be given mobile phones, then intial behavior of children would inclined towards physical activity and this mobile issues could be solved at some extent.