"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

The argument says that a bicycle lane would inspire people to use bicycles to commute, leading to reduced in rush-hour traffic. The problem of proposing above solution is enhanced traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center. There was a proposal to widen the highway but due to similar action in nearby highway lead to worsening the traffic jams on it. To support the reasoning, the author states that many area residents are bicycle lovers; therefore, they would prefer bicycle lane, action will reduce traffic on Blue Highway. However, stated in this way, the argument reveals examples of leap of faith, poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology. The argument manipulates the facts and conveys a distorted view of the situation. Further, it fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on the assumption for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is weak and unconvincing and has several flaws.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the situations due to which the Blue Highway is affected are the same as the situation of the nearby Green Highway. This statement is a stretch and not substantiated by any way. For example, it is quite possible that the the city in which Green Highway present population increased exponentially after widening the highway. This incidence could be because of several reasons such any national or international event going to happen in that particular city or festival being organized during those period. Due to such events, it is pretty obvious that the traffic would me much higher and this might be the case with nearby Green Highway. Clearly, the argument presented by author regarding this point is not convincing. The argument would have been much clearer if it explicitly stated the reasons why the Green Highway widening followed by increased traffic jams and how the situation of both highways are comparable.

Secondly, the argument claims that the many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage people to use bicycle to commute, leading to less rush-hour traffice. This a again a very weak and unsupported reasoning as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between reasons of increased traffic on Blue Highway and using of bicycle by peopel. Generally, people use bicycle to travel shorter distance while other vehicles such as cars and motor bikes are used to travel longer distance. In the argument, nothing is given about the vehicles mostly run on Blue Highway. What are the ratios of people using this highway for commuting on bicycle, car, or bus. To illustrate, if majority of the people use the Blue Highway for going to suburbs to city center or vise versa and distance between these two locations are too much to travel by bicycle, then there would be no result to have bicycle lane. As the people would not use the lane, leading no reduction in the traffic.

In fact, it is not at all clear that how many people like bicycles in that area, how many person who use the bicycle and like the bicycle actually use that highway for commuting and the most importance the distance between these two places. If the argument had provided evidence that regaridng the distance between these two places, people vehicle preference and the percentage of people liking the bicycles then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

Without convincing answers to the above-mentioned questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more wishful rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts. In this case, the similarties between Blue Highway and nearby Green Highway, why the proposed plan to nearby Green Highway failed, what are major source of vehicle leading to traffic in Blue Highway and the role of bicycle in traffic to Blue Highway along with possible effects of people using the bicycles to commute between suburbs and the city center.

In order to assess the merits of certain situations or decisions, it is essential to have full knowledge of all contributing factors. In this particular case knowing about the distance between suburbs and city center are very crucial. This distance would largely affect the use of bicycles to these people. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.