An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author of the argument claims that, the government of Tagus should promote farming of this new type of millet. To support his claims author says that an International organization has made a new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A. As this millet breed cost more, hence farmers would be provided subsidies for it. People of Tagus readily adopting it since millet is staple food in Tagus. The author did provided some sounded premises to claim his argument. However, author's line of reasoning if fraught with erroneous logic and conclusions.

Firstly, author says that, in response of vitamin A deficiency among people of Tagus, organization has engineered this new breed. Author has assumed that there are majority of Tagus population have vitamin A deficiency but it is possible that it is not the case. There are no information mentioned about how much percentage of total population having this Vitamin A deficiency problem. It may be the case that, only 10 out of 10000 people have this issue, then there is no need to promote this type of millet farming.

Secondly, author has assumed that this new engineered millet is rich in vitamin A but in the argument nothing is mentioned about how much rich and what the definition of rich according to the author or development organization. It could be possible that they are considering 10mg vitamin A per 1kg millet food as a vitamin A rich food whereas in Tagus there are several food that have more vitamin A comparing to this food, Then there is no need to focus for promoting this thing.

Thirdly, author says that this breed will cost more to the farmers and subsidies would be provided to farmers to promote this breed. Although, it is a nice initiative but it would be illogical to support this view, unless the exact or relative cost of seeds and providing subsidies are not mentioned. It could be possible that the cost of seeds are $200 and government is providing only $2 as subsidy. In addition to this, although millet is a staple food among Tagus people but what about the production of food from this new breed seed. There is nothing mentioned about the production. It might be possible that the production of crops from this new type of seed is substantially low then this case, farmers will not go for this crops, as they are poor they need profit making crops.

In summary, the argument falls short in many aspects. The author did start with a sound premise but it did not provide sufficient support to strengthen his argument. If the author had provided more data about the percentage of population having vitamin A problems, what level of deficiency they have then the author's thought process in progressing from the premise to the stated conclusion would not have been so abrupt and jarring. Further, the inclusion of data about cost and subsidies of seeds, production of crops from this seeds would have helped author to drive his point in a far convincing way and established his position. But, in the absence of these, the argument remains flawed.