In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

The argument presented by the author is about the accident happening in Prunty County and the reforms government has made in order to improve safety on highways. But, in contrast there have not been any changes in the situation and urges government to make changes the way Butler County has made. But, author's agrument in based on unwarranted assumptions and lack of evidence which makes this argument unconvincing.

Author cites that decrease in speed limit done by the government has not work according to their forsight. And number of accidents continue with the same rate as they were earlier. But the author has not provided any evidence on the severity of the accident. Whether the accident happening in the city are minor or major. If number of major accident has decreased and equally number of minor accidents have increased then there is surely a increase in the highway safety that they aimed for.

Furthermore, author has not provided the evidence for the number of decrease in accidents in Butler County. It can surely aks a question whether the number 25 percent is accurate or not? Or people are reporting accidents in that city? Although, increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections are very good options in order to specify more safety on highways. But, are they only reason that accident happen to be lesser than the previous five years? Maybe, people there in the city drive more heedfully.

Moreover, the fact that author has considered that the number of accidents in Prunty County has not decreased even after reducing the speed limit can doubted on criteria, Whether the accidents reported by the people are genuine or not? There can be a possibility they have reported fake accidents in order to get insurance money or any other such benefits. So the argument presented by the author is rife with holes that does not hold water.

In sum, for any argument to stand, thorough study of the cause and issue has to be done and further bolster your argument with evidence to make it more convincing. The author should have provided more evidence in order to make his/her argument strong and cogent. The lack of evidence and cursory study has made his/her argument indefensible.