Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument has cited that the deers in Canada's arctic region used to migrate from one island to another in search of food. But, increase in global warming issues has led to melting of the sea ice therefore they are not able to migrate from island to other island which are separated by sea which is the major factor in the decline of population of deers. The argument will look logical at first glance. However, critical justification of the argument presented by the author has highlighted many questions. The premise in their current form are not cogent and the argument is based on unwarranted assumptions which make the argument susceptible to attacks.

On the first facet, the author has mentioned reports from the hunters. But, he has not provided any evidence for that reports. He should have examine the reports and should have checked the realibilty of the reports given by the hunter. Maybe the numbers they have come up with is not correct or maybe they have studied superficially and has not done the complete analysis of the population of the deers. Therefore, argument is not convincing enough.

Moreover, the author has mentioned that the issue has been reported by the local hunters. It can lead to question, Are they practicing hunting now also? Whether they have started hunting more? There are myriads of possibility that can lead to decline in population of deers. Hunters themselves coming up with reports for the decline in population is like we are delegating responsibility of securing milk to cat. So, if they have hunted more in recent past then deriving conclusion on basis of global warming is not acceptable.

Additionally, there is a possibility that people living on the island have utilized the land for their own purposes and the vegetation on deers used to feed have declined. People have cut the forest and have build houses and societies which could have result in shortage of space for the deers and shortage of food for them. And a major reason in decile of their population.

In the crux, the author has failed to examine all the facts regarding the population decline and has derived the conclusion naively. He should have done complete analysis of the surroundings and the reports given by the hunters and should have provided evidence in support of his argument. However, the author's argument is not cogent and thereby rendering it as indefensible.