Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Whether it is politics, business or life of a common man, every one tries to trick others in order to make profit or for their own benefits. Until those crimes or tricks are not recognized they are not scandals but they have been recognized they are termed as scandals because they can guide wide range of people to be cautious and alert for them. Therfore, I concur the fact that scandals focus our attention towards those problems which had affected others and we try to be more cautious about them.

On the first facet, one of the biggest fiddlement in the history was done by Frank Abignale Jr. He was known for copy the cheques of various banks and used them withdraw money from the banks. Till then no one was aware of the fact that the cheques can be copied too. However, his actions made bankers to think and to make more higher security standards. However, Frank Abignale was hired by the bank itself to validate for the cheques but this scandal made everyone focus on the problem that no speaker could have made.

Furthermore, in India government lend money to high class businessmen on their goodwill in the market. A high class businessman Vijay Malya was having a loan of over five hundered million. Due to change in bank policies as guided by the government, bank started questioning Vijay about the installments which he was not able to pay. Therefore, Malya decided to leave country with over five hundred million loan on him. This scandal has been treated as one of the darkest moment in Indian history and that lead to further more leery rules for giving loans.

Additionally, the terror attack of 26/11 in Mumbai, India also made government to put more intense measures on the security. As a group of terrorist infiltrated Taj Hotel in Mumbai and slautered innocuous and benign people there. This event gave the cringe of fear to each and every citizen of india and coerced government to enhance security standards. Not only in India but all around the world when any terror attack happened it rang a bell on the ears of government to reiterate all the systems and analyze where they are lacking.

In crux, yes I do agree with the fact that scandals are useful as they focus our attetion on problems and we analyze the problem more logically. It does not only alert the victim but it work as an alarm bell for thousands of people around the victim and they in turn become more prudent and heedful in their lives.